Some people think that having people from different nationalities and cultural backgrounds living together in the same country makes the country develop faster. Do you agree?

In this contemporary epoch, every sector of life is revolutionised, while some still needs advancement. And, research is one of them, which is imperative to promote a healthy life and keep numerous ailments away. However, it is widely argued whether authorities or private organizations should fund these researches. On the one hand, governments usually do not fund every important piece of research, even if it has the potential to save millions of lives. The rejection rates of funding requests targeting to the public money seem to be high according to some reports. It is supposed that the diseases or medical conditions from those requests were not at the top of the lists and they would have less chances for success. On the other hand, private sectors do have merits of the pharmaceutical industry. Clinical trials are usually expensive and they consume much of time to collect enough evidences before approval. The private companies are strong enough to convince the approver in some circumstances with fewer evidences, such as comparisons between known drugs to determine if one can help patients more than the others. It has raised the ethical question to those fundings since the finding adverse effects of new treatments is impossible without the careful monitoring and follow-up that happens with the trials. Overall, researching medicines are important and scientifically sound research projects have less chances of getting funded by public money. Many projects that have been waiting for years, despite the fact that they could provide treatments and cures that greatly improve individual lives and society as a whole, or they could be released under the outlawed ways due to the revenue for private companies. I believe the crowd has the power to change this, and if members of the public decided to support those researches, the impact would be to unlock the medical progress.