Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Causes and solutions.

Childhood obesity is getting more prevalent in many parts of the world. This problem is mainly caused by the changes that come along with modern life; and it can be reduced with the involvement of governments and parents. The most common cause of childhood obesity is the popularity of fast food. With so many parents preoccupied with work, fast food meals are a more practical choice considering how quick it is to prepare compared to a home-cooked meal. However, these ready-made foods are high in non-saturated fat and salt - the substances which create and retain fat in the body if consumed in large amounts. This kind of diet is already playing a part in increasing obesity rates among children in countries such as China and Israel. Governments can help curb the influence of fast food by placing higher taxes on these food items. When fast food is more expensive, parents will be discouraged from buying such food for their children so frequently. Another reason for childhood obesity is the modern lifestyle. Many children have little time for physical exercise due to modern technologies. In their free time, these children tend to prefer using their smartphones or tablets rather than playing sports, which gradually develops a sedentary lifestyle and higher risks of obesity. Another aspect of modern life that makes children gain weight is more focus on academic excellence. Parents often force their children to attend extra classes, thus minimizing their play time. In order to address this issue, parents need to make more time to supervise and play with their children to promote a more active lifestyle. On top of that, parents should also engage in physical activities more to set a good example for children to follow. In conclusion, childhood obesity is the result of the growth of fast food and the modern lifestyle. Actions from both governments and parents are needed to alleviate this problem.