Most countries allow 18 years old to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow it at this age, while others think that the age to start driving should at least 25 years old. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

One of the most discussed issues nowadays is the legal age for driving a car. Some people are of the opinion that this age restriction should be raised to 25 years to be on the safe side while others believe that people should start driving a car since 18 years old. In my essay, the reasons on both sides of the argument will be analysed and reasonable conclusion will be made. On the one hand, most countries think that driving should be allowed at 18 years of age for various reasons. Firstly, this is the age when an individual is treated as an adult who can take responsible decisions for himself and others. To illustrate, Russia allows its citizens to exercise their democratic rights and cast vote from 18 years of age. Similarly, alcohol is allowed after 18 years old. Secondly, at 18 years, the reflexes of person are fully developed and hence driving a car should not be a problem technically if safety norms are followed. Lastly, at 18 years, a person holds responsibility for his actions by the law. For example, if someone commits a crime before 18 years, in most countries, imprisonment is not allowed as he is considered a minor and is sent to a correctional home. Therefore, I believe that 18 years is the right age limit for issuing a driving license. On the other hand, there are arguments which support the minimum age of 25 years and above to allow driving. One of the major reasons for this opinion is the reckless impulsive nature of adolescents and teenagers. In their hour of adrenaline rush, they often tend to overlook the safety norms of driving which can lead to fatal consequences. It is believed that, with age comes maturity. To illustrate, a recent survey conducted in the four metropolitan cities of Russia showed that most of the bike accidents over the last 5 years have occurred in the teenage group and the prime reason for the accident was the violation of driving rules like wearing a seat belt. Another probable reason for increasing the legal age may be the fact that by 25 years of age, most people are married and start a family. Having dependents tends to make them responsible and leads to safe driving. In conclusion, I believe that 18 years is the ideal age limit for driving because adulthood is reached. However, raising the age limit to 25 will not decrease incidents on rash driving. It is the individuals' duty to drive safely and followed road safety norms.