Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that receiving in universities should be based on the gender. This essay disagrees with this statement because the criteria for selection should be a person's merit and not the gender, and it would require the same number of applications from each gender, which is impossible for every subject. Firstly, an individual's merit plays a critical role in their future education. Furthermore, the fact that a person is a male or female does not affect their ability to perform. Universities look at persons' marks and achievements rather than their gender as some people tend to be more deserving of the seats than others. Often there are insufficient seats in universities, due to which some people do not get a chance of getting accepted. For example, a recent study concluded that most of the universities select their candidates based on their performance and not whether they are masculine or feminine. Secondly, for an academy to take applications must be permitted to allow an equal number of males and female candidates in a subject. This is not possible because there are certain areas of study which are done by males better or vice versa. For instance, recent research found that some studies like nursing, cooking are more suitable for females than males which might leave a certain number of seats empty if universities allowed only uniform applicability of each gender. In conclusion, this approach of taking uniform applicants based on a gender -specific criteria is not logical. Altogether, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.