In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Around the globe, diseases regarding malnutrition have increased notably in the last decades because of wrong eating habits. In my opinion, it is the government who should implement measures to improve citizens health and one possibility could be certainly by increasing the taxes on fast food. On a medical standpoint, eating salty, fried, artificially sweetened and coloured food can cause several illnesses like high blood pressure, overweight and obesity, hormonal disorders, digestive diseases and even cancer. Fast food is not only easily bought in every market or restaurant in town, but is also inexpensive and practical to eat. These features of fast food are the reasons why many people choose to eat junk food while they are at work and even buy this for their children. It is very important that people in healthcare, and by this I mean not only doctors, but especially the government, apply measures to improve people nutritional aspects. One way of achieving this could be applied and higher taxes for every product that does not achieve specific healthy goals like low salt, low fat, organic and no sugar added. Another measure taken could be to improve education around nutritional aspects at kindergarten, school and work environments. By doing this, people could understand the consequences of eating artificial meals in contrast to homemade food and change their poor nutritional habits. In conclusion, it is the government responsibility to improve our well-being in every aspect in which health is understood. Preventing diseases related to bad eating habits are an essential goal and should be achieved by making more difficult to buy these products in the first place.