The growing numbers of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The growing number of overweight people makes a health care system a more concerning issue to be tackled immediately. It is often believed that school education plays the most important role in encouraging exercise. I partially agree with this, for physical education at school encourages students to participate in different kinds of exercise regardless of the importance of food they eat at home to avoid obesity. On the one hand, physical training as a part of school curriculums is effective in promoting health as people are constantly engaged with various types of exercise. In other words, various sports such as playing tennis and swimming offered by school lead to the improvement of health conditions as they are able to find sports suitable for their own needs and interests. For instance, I was able to lose weight by 5kg since I found swimming interesting as I saw gradual progress throughout its courses. Therefore, physical training courses are essential as they increase the motivation of people with obesity, who are able to find an exciting way of training. On the other hand, the role of school education is limited as overweight people should understand what they should consume to reduce their weight to maintain good physical conditions. Indeed, their obesity often originates from unhealthy eating habits with an excessive amount of sugar and fat, increasing more risks of getting obesity and other serious health issues including heart disease and brain strokes. To illustrate this, approximately 70% of obese people tend to consume more instant noodles hamburgers and pizza in daily life than organic food based on vegetables and fruits. Thus, a careful choice of food should be promoted by friends and medical staff, whose effects are more long-lasting than physical training provided by the school. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that physical exercise embedded in school curriculums plays a critical role in reducing the weight of overweight people since they are more motivated to participate in various kinds of training that match their interests. However, they should also gain helpful advice from friends and medical staff on the types of food they consume.