Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, most of the countries invest in transportation system which many passengers and commodities are transported through railways and roads. It is sometimes argued that trains should be given priority over cars. Such prioritizing, from my prospective, this essay will explore the importance of rail development compared to roads. First of all, the safety of passengers should be regarded as the first priority for the governments. As the statistics show, the number of road accidents is considerably more than the number of accidents which occur on the railways. Road accidents are one of the three main factors causes of death in Iran. For example, only in Iran every year, almost twenty thousand people are killed in road accidents. However, the fatalities in railways are less than fifty persons per year in the same country so rail transportation system plays an essential role. Secondly, using trains instead of private cars or public buses could reduce air pollution. Countries have developed railway system to encourage people use it which caused the rate of air pollution decreased by twenty percent. In addition, there are serious problems with the use of personal cars such as increased pollution, not only in the capital cities, but in most major cities in the world. In conclusion, it is assumed that rail is the most suitable option for transportation and governments are advised to put priority over railways than roads as it would improve travel safeties and would positively contribute to environmental problems.