The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The norm of dining together with relatives is becoming extinct. This essay would first discuss the reasons and the implications of the extinction of family coming together to dine. Firstly, technology has played a big role in communication within relatives. In the good old days, dining together was a means of communication and a way to appreciate one another, but since the rise of social media like Facebook, re-uniting families by having meals together has begun to decline. Relatives now find it more comfortable to text rather than meeting in person. For example, families these days prefer to create group chats as a method of keeping in touch with one another. Secondly, the impact of this is that relatives do not get to meet for years, which results in a weak love bond. It is an established truth that there is love in sharing, eating together can help strengthen bonds within themselves but this has not been the case. The reduction in having meals together has resulted to lack of compassion and care towards one another. "The way to a person's heart is through their stomach", this is a popular saying. In recent years, relatives get only to meet each other over the internet and have no form of relationship in real life which has resulted in their division. For instance, Children from a monogamous family have better bonds together than children from polygamous families. In conclusion, social media like Whatsapp and Twitter has created a more comfortable way of communication in recent years as compared to meeting with one another and discuss over meals, although this has made communication better but has created more division in relatives.