Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Introduction: It is known for centuries that we cannot live a life without being happy, nonetheless, defining this is still a challenging task for mankind. Therefore, this essay will discuss the causes of the inability to explain this feeling and what are the essential factors of being happy. Firstly, the feeling of being happy cannot be described because it is subjective. Explaining this, everyone has his or her own standard of happiness and it cannot be understood by others. For example, someone’ s happiness might be having a lot of money while another may define happiness as being famous. Another reason is the unclear definition of feeling happy. A conspicuous case-in-point is that, to somebody, it can be peacefulness whereas for someone else it can be defined as joy. Thus, it can be said that the term cannot be defined because it is seen differently by everyone and no one feel the same “ happiness ” as the others. On the flip side, however, we can still define the factors required for being happy. Primarily, it is the provision of the basic needs, including water, food and a shelter. This is obvious as these are the elements that mainly contribute to the survival of a person, lacking any of these will not be in a good state of mind and thus cannot be happy. Secondly, it is the connection with people around us. We cannot feel happy if there is no one to interact with or share our emotions with. For instance, a person with little or no friend will hardly experience joy in his life. While there are many other requirements for being happy, these are the most significant ones. Conclusion: In summary, while happiness is almost impossible to be explained as it varies between people, the provision of the basic needs and relationships will help us experience this feeling.