#1 A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Although there are problems associated with tourism, in my opinion, there are many positive outcomes of tourism. Tourism provides highly profitable employment opportunities to people in many poor countries, for example, Nepal, Tanzania, and Guatemala considering their currency rates. In addition, tourism introduces the tasty cuisines to local communities of that visited country. For instance, in Los Angeles, there are a lot of authentic Spanish restaurants that bring appetizing Hispanic dishes. Moreover, travellers from other countries can mingle with locals very easily by learning basic expressions. For example, non-English speaking Chinese tourists can use some user-friendly translator services to manage talking to English speakers for day-to-day basic activities like ordering food. The influx of tourists in many popular destinations causes nightmares to some government authorities with city management. Firstly, traffic congestion arises as too many tourist vehicles occupy the roads during peak travel hours. So this causes city councils to employ more patrols. Secondly, due to a lot of tourists crossing borders, it’s hard for immigration officers to investigate each and every traveller. Due to a lack of time and staff during security checks, some people with the intention of causing harm can enter the country. Additionally, many peaceful places where people go for de-stressing can get crowded and the peaceful nature of that place is spoiled such as Machu Picchu in Peru which is always crowded with tourists. In conclusion, the positive aspects of tourism in terms of employment opportunities and cultural adaptation outweigh all the negative aspects in relation to traffic congestion, public security, and serenity of a popular destination.