People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What solutions can you suggest?

In this modern time, the security of people has become a serious concern as many people feel unsafe not only at home but also in public places. The main reason for this insecurity is the surge in criminal activities by unemployed youngsters and one key solution to this problem is the generation of employment opportunities by the government. Owing to an increase in criminal offences by many youngsters, people now feel insecure wherever they are. This is because most of the young people remain unemployed even after qualifying for higher degrees, which makes harder for them to earn bread and butter for their families. As a consequence, they tread on a wrong path to earn money and usually threaten the general public by snatching their money, mobile phones and gold ornaments. For instance, according to a survey by the 'Time' in Gurgaon, out of one thousand cases of snatching reported in 2018, 40% were committed by young people with no job in hand. Thus, this creates a fear among the people due to which they feel unsafe. To combat this overindulgence of young generation in delinquencies, the government should generate various job opportunities. With the increase in the number of jobs in diverse sectors such as mechanical, electrical, computer and chemical, the youth will get work according to their qualification. As a result, they will not perform any unethical actions to earn money. To exemplify, in Chandigarh, after introducing ample jobs by authorities in the area of information technology for the graduates a 60% decline in the crime rate has been observed since the last 2 years. Therefore, if the government provides employment to the degree holders, then the crime rate will definitely decrease and this world will become a safe place to live in. In conclusion, people feel less safe today as a result of increased offences by unemployed youth. To remedy this problem, the government should create more employment for them.