Some people say students of different age groups in schools should be put in the same class. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that students of different age group can be put in the same class. I personally disagree with this suggestion merely because of learning speed and social interaction between the students. Firstly, the difference between the older kids and the younger ones is primarily in their cognitive skills. Older kids have a larger capacity in understanding a more difficult concept compared to their younger peers. For example, a fifth grader can grasp mathematical equation easily. However, if we teach the same subject to a first grader, they will not understand at all. In reverse, if we teach too simple subject, the older one will feel bored. In a formal education setup, such as school, planning a teaching material for both groups will be challenging. Secondly, by putting a different age group in the same class, it may trigger unhealthy environment for both groups. For example, in the recent studies on bullies, research has proven that the underlying cause is due to age gap. The older ones will bully the victims mainly because they are younger. They feel superior compared to their peers. In addition to this, the younger ones would tend to be timid and may affect permanently on their growth. In the long run, it will impact the society at large. To sum up, I personally believe that the mentioned drawbacks above on learning age gap, and possibility on bullies would flip any benefit to the idea. I would suggest having this kind of setup in an informal education environment instead of formal schools.