Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, work and leisure activites. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relavant examples for your own knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, it is evident that the use of computer systems and modern methods of communication are having a huge impact on our livelihood. Everything we do is influenced by new innovations. The essay would analyse whether the advantages of the revolution in computer systems and telecommunications outweigh its drawbacks and to what extent if true. The modern era has seen a technological revolution which has taken everyone by storm. Every aspect of human life is tremendously affected by advances in means of transferring information. Instantly, the computerized systems are used by many businesses to manage their bookkeeping. The implementation of these systems has resulted in better organization of business records and provides insights into business which were not possible earlier using manual bookkeeping methods. Moreover, it helps, the environment as less paper is used and most of the data are kept in hard disks. However, some argue, that the use of computerized systems has had a bad impact on the job market since less people are needed while doing the same job using a computerized system. Another obvious advantage is that modern communication methods have made the world a true global village. People living in different parts of the world can communicate with each other through a variety of methods like video calling, mobile, and various internet applications very cheaply. Variations in methods of communicating has encouraged people to settle in places far from their family and friends as they know that they can still stay in touch with them. In conclusion, we can safely say that the advantages of the influence of information technology on our daily lives overshadow the disadvantages it may have. With more advancement in technology these benefits will increase exponentially.