Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, children spend most of their day on screens. In my opinion, this development affects children in a negative way. To begin, children waste time on their iPads because parents are not taking care of their kids. Moreover, while children seek attention from their families parents are busy with work or chores. Giving a child the needed attention and providing the care that they need are crucial components for raising a mentally and physically healthy child. Also, technology can be addictive and appealing for children therefore, controlling a child can be challenging. However, parents can do fun and healthy things with their kids such as baking, riding bikes, and dancing. Finally, raising a happy and healthy child depends on the parents. smartphones can harm a child and cause health issues. One of the risks is obesity. For example, children who don't perform any kind of activity will suffer from obesity because of the long sitting hours. Another risk is developing bad habits, for instance, reduced social skills. Children who develop a social life are smart and healthy whereas, children who don't are most likely depressed and sad. In addition, blurred vision caused by screens is another risk. Furthermore, the internet is not safe for children as there are criminals and strangers trying to fraud. To sum up there are lots of risks associated with technology which are not safe for children. In conclusion, I don't believe that children should be able to waste time on iPads because of the risks and side effects of iPads and smartphones. It is recommended to lower screen time.