Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

If we look at the news and media trends over the last few years, we will notice that only problems and emergencies grab the attention of the media outlets and any positive development are ignored and not given priority. As suggested by some, this has an adverse effect on the individuals and the community as a whole and I agree with this. Everything we interact with in our daily lives has an impact on our mood and it may determine how we will spend the rest of our day. Instantly, while going to work we turn on the radio and tune in to our favourite news channel, if the news feed only highlights accidents, wars, and other similar stories, then it will dampen our mood and will affect the way we will do our work and interact with people. However, if we hear about something positive, like a new park opened in the city or a news that our team has won the volleyball match, it would lift our spirits for the rest of the day. Too much of negative news creates anxiety and depression in the society. But it is also a fact that its media’s responsibility to provide factual and unbiased news and information to the public. Media should not just hold back news considering its negative impact on the society, but a balance should be maintained between them. To conclude the discussion, I would say that I agree with the view that the media’s love for reporting the problems and emergencies for sensationalism is not good for the well being of individuals and society as a whole.