Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, most industries have tended to change the packaging to be sustainable. Personally, I insist that it is the responsibility of customers to influence eco-friendly products and businesses; support will be illustrated in the following paragraph: On the one hand, Manufacturers are able to redesign their products to be eco-friendly by changing their materials to biodegradable or eliminating some unnecessary packaging; in addition, supermarkets are capable of reducing plastic bags and recycling paper boxes. For instance, Macro department stores in Thailand build areas for recycling boxes to service their clients–storing products when they buy. On the other hand, customers can drive the demand for sustainable products. When people have a high awareness of plastic waste, it will affect manufacturers’ change. For example, the packaging of tremendous teas in Thailand has been changed to biodegradable grade because most people are concerned about micro-plastic which leads to their health problems. Moreover, supermarkets will contribute to the campaign to support eco- products when sustainable products are in high demand. For instance, some areas of supermarkets in The Mall department stores in Thailand are renovated to be zones of sustainable products –leading to them being popular with customers who love eco- products. In my opinion, the vast majority of customer’s demands are exceedingly important to the movement of sustainable products. If people have a high awareness of reducing packages,companies and retailers will need to follow. As I mentioned, even though manufacturers are the key to reducing packages and developing products to be sustainable. However, they need to be influenced by the demands of customers to move the force of eliminating plastic. Therefore, it is the responsibility of clients to be aware of the problem of unnecessary packaging.