In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world, technological advancements coupled with a strong economy has sparkled the thoughts of many countries as to whether new rail lines for super fast trains should be constructed, or financial revenues must be spent for the betterment of existing public transport. Which one is appropriate in the present day scenario, is a question to be answered. Now-a-days, humongous amounts of money are spent for building very fast bullet trains. The introduction of such modes of commute can enable passengers to collocate within a short span of time. Consequently, people shift to suburbs as commute time is now lower than before. For instance, in India, a new bullet train had been inaugurated last year, which was scheduled to travel from Mumbai to Ahmedabad within an hour. Although, the budget spent for its construction was as high as thousand millions, it results in lesser pressure on the resources in the urban areas. Also, this state-of-the-art technology opens avenues in tourism and backs the economy of the country. However, some have a more frugal approach and prefer investing finances on our very own public transport. Not only is this an environmentally friendly, conservation and sustainable approach, but also a cost-effective and prudent way to improve day-to-day travel of citizens. For example, most citizens commute to work every day and would prefer a comfortable mode of reaching their destination. Spending on its enhancement is essential as short distance travel is necessary in everyday life. Therefore, instead of spending huge amounts of money and burning a hole in the government's pocket, betterment of general modes of transit is advisable. To summarize, although constructing railway lines for fast trains between cities would pump up the tourism industry, a more sustainable and eco-friendly option would be to work towards the betterment of existing public transport, is my opinion.