Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think that it is the fault of the parents.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent times, obesity is on the rise among children, which is a result of unhealthy eating. Some people say that the government is responsible for the increase in corpulence in children, while others blame their parents. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why the government is responsible for this health issue. One of the main reasons that causes obesity is the consumption of packaged foods which has a lot of preservative and additives and this causes all the health issues among children. The government should have taken steps to reduce sale of packaged edible products such as chips, aerated drinks, chocolates, and ice creams by increasing the sales tax for all these products which will alleviate the consumption of these edibles. For instance, If the government had levied a 30% sales tax on chips, children would not have preferred buying it as it would have been expensive. Therefore, raising the price of unhealthy food could have easily put an end to the obesity issue among children. On the other side, parents must have created awareness about the healthy food options among their children. This would have helped the kids make wiser food choices such as consumption of fruits, juices, vegetables instead of chips and other packaged foods. For example, a recent survey shows that 80% of children consume salted potato chips during their snack break, which could have easily been replaced by an apple or other fruits. Thus, it is a parent’s duty to modify their child’s diet. In conclusion, even though some people blame the parents for not controlling their children’s diet, in my opinion, the government is primarily responsible for the obesity among children as it failed to levy more taxes on packaged foods.