Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

When people travel to different countries they come across different cultures. Most cultures have similarities between them but are mostly unique. There is no greater learning than travelling and it is valuable to adapt the local practices and customs while travelling. Travellers like adapting into the local know how. They make sure they learn a few words that are commonly used and speak while interacting with others. The conversations make the locals happy and encourage them to teach more of their traditions to the travellers. Learning something that's temporary help tourists to gain more insight on culture, language and beliefs of a particular place of visit. For an example, when a tourist learns the greeting word, the locals would like to teach the local cuisine and its ingredients. While people understand the importance of interacting with locals by adopting similar customs, there is an expectation to learn the local practices without any merit. If people are travelling to places for a holiday or a short stay, it is not necessary to imbibe local practices and customs. To adapt the local practices and customs is completely voluntary. Adapting to local practices should be left to individuals to decide. The choices should be made by people and not be enforced upon them. In conclusion, travelling helps people to pick up some local nuances from the places they visit to other countries. It helps the world to know about different practices and customs across the planet and it will increase mutual admiration between travellers and the locals. Adapting to local customs and practices should be voluntary and not be an expectation of an individual.