In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Starvation is an unfortunate reality in the world today. Despite the developments in agriculture, the majority of people in the world die due to starvation. In my opinion, the population growth and the wastage of food continue to rise and this is causing a lot of people go hungry. From my point of view, there are several ways to prevent starvation such as implementation of international laws in order to manage overgrowth of population and educating the managers of food companies about the disastrous effects of the starvation. First of all, the most important reason that we should consider in terms of starvation is overpopulation, since growth in population is increasing relatively faster than the production of food. For example, despite the studies that have been put in effort in order to fasten the duration of a crop to be grown, it is still not enough to cover the food supply that is needed for people’s survival in today’s world. Therefore, governments should implement some international laws to control the overpopulation problem that we face today. For instance, authorities may enforce people to have only one child. Secondly, although the awareness campaigns about the wastage of food, a lot of people still do not understand the significance of food for some people to survive. In fact, some studies have shown that the wastage of food in restaurants has increased significantly over the past several years, which is causing a lot of people die due to starvation. Thus, food companies should take the experience and the academic background into account of people when hiring them as managers. Moreover, they should also educate their managers about the starvation problem by assigning them proper training programs. To sum up, although the advances in agriculture field, a lot of people die from starvation due to the overpopulation and the wastage of food. However, I believe that it is possible to prevent starvation by implementing international laws to control the population growth and educating the managers of the food companies to reduce the wastage of food.