Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Over the past few decades, a vast proportion of individuals who are struggling with health problems are attempting alternative medicines and treatment as a replacement for paying a visit to their usual doctors. I vehemently declare this is a negative trend due to the detrimental ramifications, namely immense side effects and people’s lack of in-depth knowledge regarding the usage instruction of alternative drugs and treatments. To commence with, a fundamental demerit of utilizing alternative medication instead of visiting a professional doctor would be the harmful consequences. Whereby, painkillers probably have side effects that are known by professionals such as doctors or surgeons. Nonetheless, a patient could be influenced by threatening side effects. My grandmother, for instance, took a painkiller without visiting her usual doctor, which resulted in insomnia. Furthermore, the safest pattern to use remedies is to not only be aware of the exact dosage the body requires, but also the duration of usage is momentous which is different from person to person and doctors are familiar with these procedures. Therefore, taking advantage of these substances without visiting a doctor would be undoubtedly dangerous. This happened to my father, who was diagnosed with COVID-19 and started to use remedies to improve his breathing without informing his doctor, however, due to the wrong dosage and duration, resulted contrastingly. To conclude, given the scenario above, everything can be recapitulated into the fact that currently, a staggering number of people who are struggling with health difficulties are trying alternative medications and treatments which in my point of view is a negative development due to the dangerous side effects as well as users lack of knowledge of the usage instruction.