In many countries, people throw away a lot of food from restaurants and shops. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

In this era, there has been a growing tendency for the amount of food to go into the trash and this situation climbs up significantly every year, especially in megacities. Within the scope of this writing, many reasons will be discussed carefully and how they can be overcome. There are plenty of causes of throwing food such as trademark protection and avoiding complaints from customers. The most important marker is that shops have to throw away the number of expired processed products so as to ensure customers' safety. Obviously, any troubles which come from their foodstuffs could lead to loss of their reputation, resulting in decreasing profits also. Besides that, restaurants usually use fresh ingredients to make meals so a lot of leftovers are thrown every day. Another point worth mentioning is that food courts do not want to use their cooking for charities because of a lack of time and effort. Moreover, if somebody has problems after eating, the owner will be responsible for taking care of them. Although there are many challenges from this issue, they might be tackled by some following methods including estimation of food stocks and raising citizens' awareness. The first striking feature is that stores should plan to buy products depending on the remaining. Thus, using the "first in, first out" process to manage items is also a good way to reduce the wastage of food. On the other hand, improvement of the educational system is a useful solution to resolve this problem. Consequently, people will be well-informed about the worth of food, harmful impacts on the environment as well as information regarding starvation in various parts of the world. In conclusion, supermarkets waste a lot of food to prevent using expired products that could lead to food contamination. This can create difficulties but if proper management and punishment for anyone who leaves their food in the restaurants are conducted, the situation can be better.