GOVERNMENTS SHOULD NOT INVEST IN ARTS SUCH AS MUSIC AND THEATER. GOVERNMENTS MUST INVEST MORE IN PUBLIC SERVICES. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE?

SOME PEOPLE ARE OF THE OPINION THAT THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD SPEND MORE MONEY ON PUBLIC SERVICES INSTEAD OF USING THEIR BUDGET TO SUPPORT THE ARTS, FOR INSTANCE THEATER AND MUSIC. IN MY OPINION, ALTHOUGH MORE INVESTMENT IS NEEDED IN PUBLIC TRANSPORT AND HEALTH CARE SYSTEM, THE ARTS PLAY A SIGNIFICANT ROLE IN THE SOCIETY AND SHOULD NOT BE IGNORED. WITH REGARDS TO PUBLIC SERVICES, IT IS WITHOUT DOUBT THAT PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION AND HEALTH SYSTEM NEED MORE FUNDING. THIS IS BECAUSE A BOOST IN THE AVAILABILITY OF TRAINS AND BUSES WILL HELP TO REDUCE TRAFFIC CONGESTION AND THE AMOUNT OF AIR POLLUTION WHICH ARE CAUSED BY EMISSIONS FROM GREAT NUMBER OF PRIVATELY OWNED CARS. ALSO, THIS BOOST WILL HELP REDUCE COST OF LIVING BY ENABLING PEOPLE TO SAVE ON FUEL AND INSURANCE COST AS THEY GET TO PAY LESS FOR A MONTHLY BUS PASS. FURTHERMORE, EMPLOYMENT OF MORE MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS AND PROVISION OF SOPHISTICATED MEDICAL EQUIPMENT WILL MAKE HEALTH CARE EASILY ACCESSIBLE TO THE MASSES, THEREBY LEADING TO A HEALTHY AND WEALTHY NATION. ON THE OTHER HAND, THE ARTS SHOULD BE FUNDED BY THE GOVERNMENT BECAUSE OF ITS GREAT IMPORT IN THE LIVES OF PEOPLE AND SOCIETY AS WELL. FIRSTLY, THEATER AND MUSIC PROVIDE ENTERTAINMENT FOR INDIVIDUALS. PEOPLE VISIT CINEMAS AND BARS ESPECIALLY IN THE EVENING TO RELIEVE STRESS OF THE DAY BY SEEING MOVIES AND LISTENING TO MUSIC. ALSO, THE ARTS CAN BOOST THE ECONOMY OF A COUNTRY BY PROVIDING EMPLOYMENT FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE ART INCLINED. THIS IN TURN LEADS TO CRIME REDUCTION AS ANYONE WHO IS OCCUPIED WITH A FULFILLING JOB HAS NO TIME AND INTEREST IN GETTING INVOLVED IN ANY FORM OF CRIME. IN CONCLUSION, WHILE THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO PLOUGH MORE MONEY INTO PUBLIC SERVICES, THE ARTS SHOULD ALWAYS BE APPRECIATED FOR ITS IMPORTANCE. GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO MORE BY SUPPORTING THE ARTS FINANCIALLY TO ENSURE A DIVERSIFIED ECONOMY.