Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their wealth and glamour rather than their achievements, and this sets bad example to young people. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, more celebrities have become popular because of their glam lifestyles than their works. In the rise of the social media era, famous people such as influencers or content creators tend to flex their money in order to get attention from their followers. I agree that this phenomenon has bad effects on people, especially the younger generation. This essay will explain why the glamorous habits of celebrities have negative impacts. Influencers tend to show their luxurious life on their social media. They show off their branded bags, sports cars, or fancy dinners. They promote that their luxury activities are an ordinary thing that everyone should have. Because of this habits, the young generation has become more money-oriented. For example, people are willing to do anything even if it is criminals as long as they get money to pay for their lifestyles. A survey showed that prostitution increased among young women. Additionally, the theft rate increased, especially in suburban areas. Moreover, the flexing trends which are popularized by celebrities increase the consumerism behaviour among their followers. They want to have the same life as their idols which encourages them to buy expensive goods. However, they often afford things beyond their capacity. Then, to fulfill their lifestyles, they take debts which lead to future problems. For instance, a study showed that online debts among people aged 20-35 years old increased over the last 3 years. Unfortunately, they took debts for consumption purposes instead of productive purposes. As a result, they fail to pay their debts because of their lack of financial capacity. In conclusion, the pretentious lifestyles of celebrities have negative influences on young people. Since the young generation wants to follow the influencer's behaviours, they tend to switch their behaviours beyond their ability. In order to keep the younger generation better, we need to normalize to give popularity to people that have good influence and achievement.