Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get the locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

Visiting museums and heritage sites are mainly done by foreign travellers than locals these days. A high entrance fee is one of the key reasons why more and more local visitors are not interested in visiting such places, and this issue can be addressed lowering the cost of entry tickets. The entrance ticket to local museums or historical attractions is prohibitive which makes local people unwilling to visit these sites. Often, people who live in the region spend their money on something that is most necessary to sustain their lives, such as paying bills and buying groceries. Even if they have to spend it for entertainment, they would have used it for watching a movie in the cinema, for example, as it is more affordable. This situation has also been proven from a recent survey conducted by Ministry of Tourism in Indonesia, where native residents stated ‘too expensive’ as the main factor why they are not interested in spending their leisure time at historical tourism sites. Lowering the cost of entering such tourist spots seems to be an effective method in attracting the locals. This approach allows these local people to afford the price of the ticket, and as a result, they will pay a visit to these places more often than before. The majority of people in Britain, for instance, tend to visit more historical attractions than other entertainments due to its low-cost ticket. Overall, it seems logical to conclude that a high entrance ticket to some historical sites or museums has a detrimental consequences for the locals. By reducing the admission fees, it allows them to afford to purchase the ticket and subsequently increase their interest to visit these places more frequently than ever before.