In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some nations young adults are inspired to take up employment or tour the world for twelve months between leaving high school and enrolling into higher institution. Youths who decide to travel or work gain valuable experience, but there are drawbacks to be considered. One of the benefits of encouraging young adults to get a job or travel before enrolling in the university is that they gain valuable experience. That is, they acquire knowledge that will help them in life endeavours later in life when they are faced with difficult situations especially in the university. For example, my cousin, James, was able to handle his relationships adequately with people while at the university because of the experience he had while attending a seminar on relationships immediately he finished high school. So, touring or working after secondary school opens the avenue to gain knowledge. However, one problem, when youngsters pick up employment or tour the world is that it potentially makes them lose focus. In other words, they get carried away by the happenings in the world or with the fact that they are making money, and will not want to further their education. Take for instance, my neighbour’s son who was opportune to learn how to develop softwares when he finished high school. He makes good money from it and has refused furthering to higher institution despite persuasions. Therefore, touring or working can make young adults lose focus. In conclusion, while youngsters can benefit from travelling and working, they can get carried away with making money, which can be detrimental in the long run.