Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

People's opinions differ with regards to whether paid job is detrimental for young ones or not. Although being involved in this could make them independent financially and have a better understanding of money, but there are demerits as well that need to be considered. To start with, one of the pluses of children working is that it makes them free from parent's greed. That is to say, some parents do not cater for their offspring as they should and when these ones engage in jobs, and get wages, they are able to liberate themselves. Another advantage is that, earning money helps them to broaden their knowledge about cash. Consequently, they would not be spendthrifts, that is they would be prudent and not wasteful. Such children would not only gain this character, but also save for their future. However, the disadvantages are also noteworthy. Firstly, it exposes them to hardship. This is because employers are not emotional when business is concerned and would subject their employees irrespective of their ages to the existing working conditions. For instance, a 10years old boy working in a factory, would be made to do exactly what the adults that are present do as well and this would definitely be too much for them to bear. Secondly, such people might not do well academically. Since they would have to work after school, they would seldom have time for their academics and this would result in poor grades, which are not needed for their future. In conclusion, in spite of the merits of children working for money, the downsides which include exploitation and poor academic performances are to be put into consideration.