Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree of disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays the food and drink being consumed contain too much sugar which leads to multiple health issues. Some people argue that we should increase the price of sugary items to help people eat less sugar. I agree to some extent with the statement. Increasing the price of sugary items discourages people from buying them. This is because of the current climate where people prefer to spend money on products that are cost-effective and cost-saving. For instance, in the UK, due to current austerity measures, people are increasingly choosing to spend money on food items that are cheaper rather than expensive. If sugary products are made more expensive, people will be naturally discouraged from buying them. Furthermore, introducing high prices for sugary goods will also reduce the multiple health problems associated with their consumption. On the other hand, some people argue that they will not be stopped from buying unhealthy snacks due to their freedom and free will. This is because people would continue to buy the items even though they have been made expensive. To illustrate this, Scandinavian countries such as Norway, Sweden, Iceland and Denmark abandoned policies to increase the prices of sugary products due to lack of acceptance from their citizens. Furthermore, they argued that they would continue to buy unhealthy food and beverages because their freedom to choose is paramount. To conclude, I believe that food and beverages that contain high levels of sugar should be increased, but people ’s freedom and choices should be taken into consideration.