In number of countries, some People think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing New railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals have an opinion that it is advantageous to spend a large amount of capital on developing new railway tracks for high-speed trains linking cities, while others believe the spending should be on enhancing current public transport. In this essay, I will discuss both of these views and give my opinion. The establishment of new railway lines in a country is beneficial for the convenience of its citizens. To put it another way, the development of super fast trains will often lead to people preferring to travel by public transport, rather than commuting with their private vehicles. Moreover, this will also help in reducing air pollution, as well as saving time for travellers, especially in populated countries like India and China, where traffic is a big concern, introducing speedy line would be a key to overcoming these issues. For instance, according to a news report from Hong Kong Times in 2022, the government of China has been working on the construction of bullet trains for the last 5 years to save time for its people. On the other hand, some may believe that the betterment of public transit facilities will help individuals to improve their standard of living. In other words, providing comfortable seats, affordable prices and well-designed convoys will gain attraction for people to travel by local public transportation. While there is some accuracy to this notion, it should not be pursued at the expense of neglecting the areas without mass transit. Take China as an example; where folks have access to retail shops in transportation areas. Although some may have a satisfactory journey to a destination, those who want to pursue more far locations would suffer. To conclude, while improving current transport means is undeniably imperative, I firmly believe that building new ones would contribute more to both society and the environment. This is acquired by more usage of high-speed trains instead of personal vehicles, offering immediate access and less exhaust emission.