Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, crime has become a highly delicate issue of the society to handle. Although it is believed by some that criminals will always be into crimes once they commit it. I totally disagree, with the above fact and this essay shall support my notion. To begin with, According to the law people who commit crimes are punished, it creates fear among them. Which will make them think twice before attempting it again. For instance, The recent survey of the police department in China shows, 70 percent of the offenders do not re-offend any illegal activities in order to avoid punishments. If criminals continue to break the law, then they may face life term imprisonment. Therefore, due to this reason many deter crimes in future. Another significant reason is, many of them not only face shame in the society, but also feels discriminated by people, so to ameliorate their status in the community they stay away from any wrongdoings. Because of their previous acts, they become more vigilant and impeccable in their living. Thus, this is indispensable for them to gain back their respect in the society, even if they committed some crime before. In conclusion, despite the thinking of people that once a law offender is always a law offender, I strongly disagree. As many do not commit crimes again, and try to be faithful towards their law.