Some people say that in all levels of education, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that too much time is spent learning facts and less time spent on acquiring practical skills from primary schools to universities. I strongly agree with this view. I will discuss two major reasons why I believe that the methods of education is not practical enough. To begin, the course outlines of tutoring centres are skewed in a manner to include majorly the theoretical aspects of education. For example, I took a course in dentistry for a year during my undergraduate study and to my surprise! In addition, I did not also get to perform tooth filling for a patient, which had been a major topic in class. Another reason I believe that the educational system is more biased towards a textbook method of learning is the way the exam questions are set not to include a practical section. In addition, the examiner expects a scholar to write down steps on how to perform an activity can equally carry out the it out. To emphasize my point, after a lesson on how to plant corn in high school, I had expected that we will be asked to demonstrate the process during our exams. To conclude, I am of the opinion that most places of learning do not pay adequate time to the practical side of education, rather they are more focused on the abstract areas because of the reasons explained above.