Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that major punishment should never be used while others believe that it can be allowed for the gravest of crimes. This essay agrees that the penalty for serious offences should be permissible because it is the only way to give a strong message to those who think of committing serious crimes. This essay will discuss both points of view. Criminals who have been involved in major offences such as kidnapping and murder should be dealt with very seriously. The penalty for such acts of violence should be swift and severe. This will send a strong message to the people of a country. It will remind them that the consequences are harsh and this will in turn prevent them from engaging in such felonies. For example, in the Middle-Eastern countries such as Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, the punishment for murder is immediate death. However, some disagree and feel that capital punishment should not be practised. Human life is precious and considered to be a gift of God. Some people believe that taking someone’s life is a very barbaric thing to do, no matter what the reason is. Additionally, in the case of major felonies, some feel that the convicted person should be given another chance to prove to be a better human being. For example, James Arthur, who is currently 32 years old, was sentenced to 7 years of imprisonment in 2013 for the murder of an innocent woman. A few years back, the court announced that James’ imprisonment term has been reduced to 5 years. Now, James is working as an office administrator and he has proved to be a good citizen of the country. In conclusion, while it may sometimes be harsh to sentence a convict to a serious offence such as death, it is necessary to send a strong message to the people of a nation and make it clear to them that such acts will be heavily penalized. Thus, this will not only maintain law and order in a country, but will also greatly reduce the crime rate. In my opinion, while both arguments have their merits, I believe that capital penalties must be used to ensure the safety of a county.