Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this and how it can be addressed​?

Undeniably, inactive lifestyle of citizens has been one of the most concerning factors in almost every nation nowadays. This essay will highlight some of the prominent reasons for such lifestyle in most of the countries and propose suitable measures to mitigate its effects. To begin with, one of the significant reasons for people being physically inactive is overuse of technology. This is because machinery makes your work easy and convenient and often people are habituated to using it even to carry out simple jobs. To cite an example, even if the supermarket is in a walk-able distance, people tend to use vehicle rather than walking to the destination. To tackle this, overdependence on technology should be avoided. This means that less complicated household chores should be carried out without using technology. For instance, sweeping and cleaning the house should be done manually rather than using high profile equipment, which involves less physical movements. Another equally important cause is that people are unaware about the potential health dangers sedentary lifestyle comes with. This means that even if there is an opportunity to involve in a physical activity, people often let go of it; thereby, leaving themselves vulnerable to certain ailments in the future. To combat this issue, media, predominantly print media, should be used to create awareness about the early signs and possible diseases that lack of physical activity might lead to. This would teach people the importance of being physically active and deter them from neglecting exercise. In conclusion, undue usage of machinery and lack of knowledge about the consequences are some of the leading factors of less physical exercise in people, which can be addressed by performing household chores manually and by utilizing media to spread awareness. I believe, primarily it is an individual's responsibility to care for his well-being; however, the government should also take up the task by mandating an article in the newspaper about the aforementioned repercussions.