In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read what they want online without paying any cost To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is predicted in a few years that people will use the Internet for reading books or following the news as they are free of charge instead of purchasing periodicals and books. Nowadays, already most of the society has been using their electronic gadgets for reading online because it is more practical and environment-friendly. However, the news platforms and online bookstores are not free of charge and require a subscription. In this essay, I will discuss this point of view and give my opinion. Technology has offered people the luxury of learning and staying informed about the latest updates in the world wherever they are. Moreover, some individuals argue that using tablets and phones over paper-based periodicals helps save the environment and causes less pollution and deforestation. For example, it is uncommon to see people reading newspapers in cafes or holding paper books on the metro as most individuals have their eyes locked on their phone. Most online platforms make a profit from the advertisements displayed on their web page, as a result, they allow readers to use their services for free or for a small monthly fee. For example, The New York Times offers only one article per day for free, otherwise it requires a subscription to have access to read other materials. On the other hand, most E- books are only available to purchase for a price lower than the price for hard-cover and soft-cover books to encourage people to use E- books. In conclusion, electronic devices and online browsing will replace paper based books and magazines. However, this change will not be totally free of charge but will cost them less money in the long term as they will be using the same electronic gadgets and paying smaller fees.