Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People seem to be either excited or worried about the future impact of artificial intelligence. Personally, I can understand why people think about it in two different ways, and I am both fascinated by developments in artificial intelligence and also concerned about its possible negative effects. On the one hand, the improvements in artificial intelligence come with some huge benefits that no one can ignore. Now, machines are able to do many tasks better than people do, especially in the areas that high level of mathematical intelligence and operational skills are needed. Some robots now are able to make smallest calculations, predict any scenario that can happen and do practice with minimum mistake. For example, they can help surgeons during some critical operations and prevent some human-based mistakes. There are now semi-autonomous cars thanks to artificial intelligence, which are able to drive on its own, and artificial intelligence that is used in these cars reduces risks that can come out of human mistakes during driving. These are only two examples, and it is no hard to imagine how artificial intelligence will make our lives easier in many other aspects of life. On the other hand, I also share the concerns of people who believe that some harms can come from artificial intelligence. In the short term, because of the fact that some robots are able to do some tasks that are done by labour without the demands of salary and off-days, and it leads employers to have robots rather than hiring employees. Eventually, it causes unemployment, especially among unskilled labour, and this unemployment can cause many problems in both individuals and societies. Moreover, from a broad perspective, people can start feeling meaningless when artificial intelligence reaches at a point in which there will be no need for humans. In summary, while artificial intelligence will no doubt keep on improving our lives, there are some reasonable concerns about it, which should not be ignored