Many people buy new phones and laptop to keep up with the latest technology. Is it a good or bad thing?

The past 50 years have seen a tremendous amount of growth in the technological industry. To be on par with the latest inventions, a large amount of the population buys brand new phones and laptops. Nevertheless, this is a destructive trend as it results in money wastage and spoiling of children. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that phones and laptops are expensive to buy nowadays and a major part of the population cannot afford it, but keeping up with the latest technology has become a trend to enhance their social status, especially among the youth. For instance, Apple products often instills a sense of opulence in the population who owns them as they are expensive to buy. Flaunting their over-priced new phones or laptops on social media has become a trend and many obsessed people buy their products, even when they do not require it, just for the sole purpose of bragging. Secondly, by looking at the promotion of these costly devices, children force their parents to buy them these products. Furthermore, since the technology is growing rapidly, new products are released every year and promoted widely, hence, children discard their old phones or laptops and badger their parents to buy them the latest products. As a result, children become spoiled with no regards for hard earned money or care for their old tech. In conclusion, keeping up with the latest technology might seem enticing at first, but is a negative development as it wastes precious money of the people on materialistic things and also strips children of respectful and caring nature.