In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college , University or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, a greater number of university graduates and young adults prefer to live with their parents around the world. While this can be beneficial for them initially in saving money and time, I firmly believe it can have many detrimental effects on their future, as they will not be able to become self-sufficient and sustain their own families. The major advantage of choosing to stay with parents is that it is economically viable and reduces the amount of time spent on daily activities. Firstly, the financial strain of paying the rent and other bills associated with living alone is not present. As a result, it is possible for them to invest this money for their future. Another aspect is the time that they save on chores like cooking and cleaning, which they can use to work and advance in their career, in the initial years. For instance, interns in many organizations are made to work long hours at minimum wages, leaving them with minimal time for themselves which also results in health issues. If these people choose to be in the same house as their parents, it would reduce the burden of preparing meals, staying healthy and saving whatever little they are paid to achieve their goals in the future. Despite all the benefits, it can be said that it negatively impacts their overall personal growth and limits them from being able to support themselves in the long run. This means that when they encounter day-to-day problems concerning their household, without the guidance of another, these adults are rendered incompetent. Moreover, it is a widely understood notion that experience is the best way to teach, the ones who are never exposed to situations such as repairing a leaking tap or preparing meals for themselves are not able to cope when they have families of their own. This clearly means that living with parents for extended periods of time just for personal benefit and comfort results in limiting the holistic growth of young individuals. In conclusion, although young adults can advance financially and professionally by living with their parents, in the future they are set to face major problems personally and in extension are not able to sufficiently manage their own families.