Technology has created new types of hobbies. Nowadays, many children spend much time playing computer games or mobile games. What problems are associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

It is increasingly known that technology has created new hobbies; therefore, recently, some kids have spent more time playing games on computers or mobile phones. This essay will discuss some problems that might appear because of this phenomenon, such as an underdeveloped mindset and lower results of studying, and will also provide the most viable solutions for this matter by implementing reward and punishment methods, as well as limiting the playing time. To begin with, it is undoubtedly known that students will lack critical thinking because of excessive time of playing entertainment on mobile or computer. The main reason is that their cognitive capabilities are not developed very well since they spend most of their time playing. These skills will only be acquired if they are learning fundamental subjects in school, such as mathematics or science. Another major issue that might happen is low-quality studying. When the students are focusing on their hobbies rather than what they should be doing, like learning new theories or math laws, their brain ' quality tends to drop significantly because they are lacking in developing their brain power. This causes them to have a lower grade in some subjects in the class. For instance, it is reported that 35% of young gamers in Jakarta have lost their ability to memorise the law of measuring circles. However, one of the most viable solutions for this issue is to apply the reward and punishment method. This approach will support children to become more disciplined and manage their time properly. For example, after they study or if they achieve some milestones, kids can play with their entertainment as an award. On the other hand, if they are showing any progress, there will be discipline they have to take. This will encourage them to pursue some improvements. Secondly, limiting their screen time. By implementing this method, parents can arrange the schedule for their children more wisely, so that there are times for them to play and for them to read their school materials. Making the kids respect and understand the meaning of time management. In conclusion, although technology provides new hobbies like playing computer or mobile games, problems, like poor academic performance and limited critical thinking skills, might appear. Therefore, applying a reward as well as a punishment format and creating a limited time to play are the best solutions for this matter.