As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Much debate has arisen as to whether buying and using cars is a positive trend. While it may lead to rich rewards, it is also certain that there are many drawbacks. This essay will discuss both positions and I will conclude with my personal opinion. From one side of the debate, it has been argued that the increase of individuals’ cars is more likely to minimize their inconvenience during their travel; they often face problems such as limited to fixed routes and timetables. As a consequence, it can be seen that people using their own cars become calmer and more relaxed on the trip. Meanwhile, the advocates of the proposition that there are more drawbacks to having own cars. This is because when driving cars in a variety of public avenues, it leads to serious pollution, having an impact on body functions. A well-known example of this can be witnessed by the fact that Beijing, one of the biggest cities in China have been having air pollution consist of roughly 60 percent of the dust. Furthermore, the most significant argument that should not be overlooked is that using their own cars can lead to heavy traffic congestion, which is mainly because of the fact they are many drivers in the city at midnight. From the recent survey of ABC, it redefines the fact that those who chose the reality that there are more at midnight are ten times more than people who chose there are not. In short, my perspective is that although there is a greater advantage of owning cars, its drawbacks, causing not only environmental but also health issues outweigh its advantages in which people can avoid congestions.