The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

For the last few decades, people have been using fossil fuels such as charcoal, petrol, gas, and diesel as their main source of energy. However, overuse of natural fossil fuels not only have negative effects on the environment, but also reduced reserves to the verge of extinction. Therefore, many people believe that the research for green and safe energy should be the global priority these days. To a certain point, I agree with that, but some considerations should be cautiously measured as well. To start with, over consumption of fossil fuels results in certain threats to the environment. High emissions of carbon dioxide gases overwhelm the global warming to a dangerous extent. In addition to this, depletion of the ozone layer also speeds up. For example, a number of environmental researches proved that the effects of global warming and depletion of the ozone layer are four times as compared to the last few decades before. Moreover, the excessive utilization of natural fossil fuels also produces an alarming situation of diminution of their reserves. For instance, natural gas reserves of the Pakistan gas greatly reduced by just a few decades. Hence, it is the need of the hour to discover alternatives of natural resources as they have to eventually extinct. Despite all the positive sides of alternative energy, people should also be aware of several things. Firstly, the alternative energy methods should be controlled and checked firmly. For example, many countries, these days are using nuclear power as a main energy source. No doubt it is an environmental friendly way of meeting desired requirements. But, nuclear power plant should be properly maintained to avoid any adverse incident. Secondly, the expenditure for research and development of green energy worldwide is higher than the exploration cost of fossil fuels. Therefore, cost estimation should be made while searching for alternatives. In conclusion, exploration and research on alternatives to fossil fuels should be a targeted goal for the world because it will solve many environmental issues. But, numerous research should also be conducted with proper feasibility studies before taking any step.