In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary era, a diverse range of facilities and services have been concentrated in urban areas. As a result, a rapid influx of citizens from villages to towns can be observed, which has many impacts on society. From my perspective, this is not a favorable trend, as will be explained in the following paragraphs. The primary reasons behind the migration of individuals are the urgency of education, health facilities, transport and income opportunities. The increase in population density has an irreversible effect on the demand for essentials such as food, water, housing, and energy. This is evidenced by the rising prices of these goods. Similarly, the growing population has inevitable effects on environmental pollution. For example, harmful emissions from increased vehicle usage and the amount of plastic waste released into nature are pressing issues associated with urbanization. On the other hand, suburbs are often recognized as areas with ample natural resources like pure mineral water, fresh air, and unpolluted soil. Abandoning such places can be considered a waste and may delay the development reaching these rural zones. For instance, despite technological advancements, some individuals in rural areas still lack basic necessities like electricity. In contrast, there are some benefits to urbanization, such as the convenience of abundant services like education, hospitals, transport, and supermarkets, as well as job market opportunities and a continuous supply of resources. To conclude, although there are a few advantages associated with urbanization, in my perspective, development should also reach the countryside without abandoning it.