Big sporting events are shown on television like Olympic and world cup , some people say that this would encourage adult to exercise. Others say that other ways we can encourage exercises. What do you think?

Sports have played a very important role in the lives of the human beings, since time immemorial. They have served as platforms for people to come together and flex their muscles. With the technological advancements, we now have the comfort of watching large sports events on our televisions. While some believe that this can encourage physical activity, others are of the opinion that there are better alternatives to motivate exercise. I strongly believe that there are other better methods than watching TV to induce people to workout and this essay will support my opinion with relevant evidences. Before the invention of TV, children used to play everyday with other kids in their locality or schools in the evening. This regular habit of playing promoted physical fitness right from a very young age. However, after the introduction of the small screen at homes, more and more children have started becoming addicted to watching shows rather than going outside and playing. For example, the obesity levels of children in today's World are the highest on record. Therefore, we can observe that the comfort of watching sports events and other shows at home has only reduced the habit of playing among children. The large events such as World Cup, FIFA, Olympics, etc., are particularly seen by adults. The fact is that when people watch these games, the same hormones that secrete in the players are secreted in the viewers as well. For instance, a man watching a football match becomes associated with the players mentally and believes that he is playing the game, leading to his body generating adrenaline, the stress hormone. This is dangerous because the individual gets the satisfaction of having done the physical activity, without actually doing it, resulting in zero motivation to take the effort to perform the exercise. In a nutshell, viewing the games on small screen does not in any way help in promoting physical activity. Therefore, more suitable methods such as organizing marathons, tournaments and adventure games in the local community can go a long way in imparting fitness goals and good habits among the public. It is recommended that public awareness on the hazards of obesity and the need to exercise is propagated and appropriate measures like organizing community events are taken by the local Government.