One of the most pressing problems facing the world today is overpopulation. What policies do you believe governments should adopt to address the causes and effects of this problem?

In the last century the population has grown very fast and it is still growing. Now in the near future the world is going to be saddled with the responsibility of feeding and taking care of this population. Overpopulation is a growing threat and the governments needs to look critically into ways of reducing this growing problem. Firstly, it is very important to look at the smallest unit of the society which is the family. All policies to reduced overpopulation should be targeted at this unit. The debate should include a logical projection on how families should be limited to the number of children they should have. Then these family units should be educated on policies used by government, such as family planning, family birth rate, women’s role in family to curb overpopulation. Secondly, a lot of cultural myth and belief surrounds having children all over the world. In fact, some of these beliefs have resulted in the steep in population these past years. For example, some cultures believe the number of children a man has determines how wealthy or powerful he is. People with this type of cultural beliefs will need proper orientation and awareness to understand the detriments of such beliefs. In conclusion, all over the world, there are a lot of policies now been in place in many countries trying to address the problem of overpopulation, but in my own view, special attention must be given to the family, creating awareness, orientation and education must be given high priority.