The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Cars were first introduced as early as 1888. By the end of the millennium, usage of cars has spiked by almost 29 million. It is argued that other methods of transportation should be used and laws should be implemented worldwide to reduce the number of cars that are being owned and driven. This essay agrees that other forms of transport must be encouraged to bring down traffic and reduce air pollution. Over usage and production of automobiles in many countries have led to heavy traffic. Most of the developing countries do not have the infrastructure to accommodate a large number of vehicles that are being driven on roads. This causes congestion and because of this, people are often late to work. For example, Mumbai has witnessed a 56% increase in traffic jams over the last three years, exactly after the latest model of Honda City was launched. The model was estimated to make nearly $80 million in sales, in just Mumbai alone. Vehicles emit large amounts of carbon dioxide, which causes air pollution. This impacts both human as well as animal life and vast amounts of air pollution can impose serious health risks such as lung and respiratory diseases. Increased use of cars in many cities has been known to worsen air quality. To illustrate, Delhi has been in the news lately for poor air quality due to the high amount of carbon emissions from cars and buses. In conclusion, international laws should definitely be enforced all over the world and alternative transport methods must be used in order to cut down traffic and to reduce the harmful effects that cars have on the environment.