Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for a child having a larger number of toys?

It is observed that some children are gifted with a huge amount of toys from their parents. Toys, in the modern world, help to achieve better cognitive development, however, the downside is that offspring tends to lose interest quickly because of having too many play items. To begin with, in the present context, toys consist with many techniques, which contribute towards the brain enhancement of the children. In other words, items such as puzzles construct the thought process, while the building blocks teach the balance and coordination. Moreover, many educational toys are available today, which are capable of teaching colour separation, words, letters and even various sounds. Therefore, having many toys can be beneficial in terms of education. For instance, as per a report published in the Science Magazine in 2015, 75% of children, who had the chance to play with modern high tech toys, were capable of grasping basic math quickly than their counterparts. On the contrary, having too many toys deteriorate the children’s ability to concentrate. Offspring tend to lose interest, when they have a wide choice, which is largely detrimental to their future as they would not be able to concentrate on their studies as well as on their social life. This is illustrated by the results of a study conducted by the University of London in 2017, which said that students who had an enormous amount of various toys during their childhood, found many difficulties in continuing their higher education since they are incapable of deep concentration. To conclude, even though it is advantageous for children to have many toys in developing their cognitive development in the early childhood, it also has demerits because it creates a generation of people who lose interest of something quickly.