Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that the best strategy to protect the environment is to increase the cost of fuel. In my opinion, such a practice can surely be helpful, but this is not the only measure that can be taken to tackle environmental issues. Firstly, by increasing the cost of fuel, such as diesel and petrol, the public will be encouraged to switch from using private cars to public transport. In other words, people will avoid wasting money on fuel and begin using buses or trains to commute to various destinations. For example, in Germany, the number of private cars on the road has decreased since the government started raising fuel prices. Therefore, this approach can undoubtedly help reduce the carbon emissions caused by cars. Secondly, it will encourage most production companies to switch to renewable energy, namely solar and wind energy. This not only lowers their expenditure, but it is also environmentally friendly. However, there are other solutions that can be implemented to deal with environmental issues. One measure that can be taken is to introduce strict legislation regarding environmental laws. Simply put, individuals and companies that pollute the environment should be given heavy fines or custodial sentences, and as a result, they will be deterred from committing these offences in the future. Another approach is to introduce awareness programs that educate the public, especially the younger generation, about the importance of conserving the environment. For instance, they should be informed about the importance of recycling and the dangers of using non-biodegradable packaging which will definitely have long-term results. To sum up, I believe that hiking the price of fuel as well as enacting stricter legislation and organising awareness programs can effectively help in solving environmental issues.