In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that lately shopping has become a leisure pursuit. While it indicates our growth in terms of production, it also leads to exploitation of natural resources. I believe this change in people's habit has more demerits than merits. To begin with, one of the reasons why people shop more often is that the purchasing power of individuals has increased. This is because the income levels have gone up, which means that after fulfilling their basic needs, they still are left with enough money to shop. Also, mostly in humans, the desire to have new material is natural; therefore, shopping has become a leisure activity nowadays. Secondly, this generation is the generation of fashion lovers. The reason for this is that fashion has become a status symbol and people are being judged if they possess obsolete stuff; thereby, indirectly forcing individuals to follow current trends. Nevertheless, in an attempt to stay updated with the fashion, we have given rise to an unethical practice. Today, where cloths or other possessions were used to fulfil needs, we have set it as a parameter to judge someone's standard in the society. Consequently, the society would be divided into different discriminatory sections. Besides this, increase in purchases would mean heavy production of goods. As people are purchasing frequently, the old items would become useless, which ends up being dumped. This means that we are exploiting the natural resources which were initially used in the production of these goods. In conclusion, although people going shopping frequently show that we are fashionable and our incomes are not only fulfilling our needs but also our desires, the morally wrong message this is giving to young ones and exploitation of natural resources is negatively impacting our society.