With the rise of smartphones and social media, people are spending less time interacting face-to-face. What effects does this phenomenon lead to? What solutions can be implemented to encourage more face-to-face interactions?

Nowadays, people are spending less time interacting face-to-face. This may be caused by the rise of smartphones and social media which allows them to socialise without having to do it in person. This essay will explore the significant effect of this phenomenon and propose viable solutions. With the rising of using smartphones and social media, this can lead to both positive and negative effects on people. The positive effect is that it can expand networking from across the world. This can be explained by the fact that plenty of people gain relations through social media. It allows them to interact with people with the same interest. However, this also may lead to an addiction that makes people forget about the real world. As a result, not a few people who are addicted to smartphones and social media struggle to socialise and interact with other people in real life since it is easier to do it online. To solve this problem, one of the solutions is for the government to organise various events for its people according to their interest and hobbies. This might help people to increase their courage to interact in real life because they will meet others with the same interest. For instance, the government could conduct an event for gamers so that the people who love to spend their time behind the desk can meet up and share with other gamers as well. In conclusion, it is clear that the rise of smartphones and social media users can lead to decreasing face-to-face interaction in people. Therefore, it is important for the government to provide a place for the people to overcome their struggles by an event or spaces so they can meet and build a community.