A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits.

The national security of a country is considered to be the primal duty of a government. Hence, some argue that authorities should allocate more funds for the improvement of the forces, although it would mean less money on the social development projects. In my opinion, despite the fact that the safety of a nation is crucial, the funding for social schemes are equally important. Most countries nowadays are threatened by the raising global terrorism and the neighbour nations who have conflicts with them. The citizens of every country live with the concerns regarding the safety of their lives. There are numerous recent example of  terrorist attacks which have cost many innocent lives, such as the Ester Sunday incident in Sri Lanka. Moreover, some nations are fighting with each other either for lands or due to difference in opinion. The result of these situations could instantly change to an unpleasant war. Therefore, considering aforementioned facts, it is imperative governments to allocate a major portion of the budget to the protection. On the other hand, if the authorities go overboard with the security funding, it could have a detrimental effect on the well-being of the society. People also require the social development provided by authorities. Especially the poor families heavily depend on the free education and medical facilities. Sometime, enforcing the security would not help the government to protect the nation. Because there could be riots form the inside of the country due to the scarcity of services provided by the government. In conclusion, enforcing the security is vital for a nation to face the global terrorism as well as the enemy nations. Nonetheless, it should not be the cost of social benefits because there is a portion of the population surviving thanks to those services.