Some people believe that children’s success in adulthood is related to the way they have been raised by their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the upbringing of a person can be a major contributing factor to the amount of success one can achieve throughout their adult life. This essay agrees with this statement and will explain three main reasons for why this is the case. Firstly, the main personality traits of human beings appear to be shaped during their formative years when they are still in their infancy. These can tremendously affect their emotional intelligence and interpersonal skills which might majorly impact their career development. For example, studies have indicated that apparently, more emotionally intelligent people tend to perform, on average, 40 percent better than their counterparts, and therefore they would benefit from better job prospects and improved socioeconomic status. Furthermore, it is often agreed that the belief system of an adult is highly influenced by the attitude and behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour of the nuclear family. That is to say that successful parents try to imbibe self-discipline in their offspring, thus improving their children’s ability to resolve future challenges in life. For example, had it not been for the teachings of Edison’s mother, he would have never been so resilient when confronted with so many failed attempts to invent the electric lamp. On the other hand, many of the failures and shortcomings of people later in life appear to stem from the conflicts in their core family during childhood. That is to say that negative feelings such as insecurity, jealousy, and anger are often instilled in people when they are still a child. These might have adverse effects on their success during adulthood. For instance, the unsatisfactory performance of college students who are children of divorced parents appears to stem from the negative impact of their parents’ separation. It is undeniable that the pace in which people reach their goals in life is greatly influenced by their own efforts, but their upbringing and their experiences thereof may indicate where they start in the race of life. In conclusion, the way people are raised by their parents appears to be a key factor in their adult- life success due to the beliefs and behaviors manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviours which are instilled in them during childhood.